Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / Visibility Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Lev

July 05, 1999, 04:54 PM

Hello all!

I have i couple of questions and I since I'm just a beginner I am not very familiar with visibility determination.

Does anybody know which visibility determination methods are used in common racing games?
In general, what is the most popular visibility system for outdoor environments? And why?
For indoor environments? And I would really like to know which visibility system space games are using.

Thanks in advance,
Lev

P.S. sorry for any mistakes you may find in my posting, I'm not a native speaker of english.

Jaap Suter

July 06, 1999, 06:13 AM

My guess would be:

race games: clip against frustrum only
outdoor: quadtree in combination with frustrum clipping
indoor: you tell me!!! :) (portals, bsp-tree, octrees+something, z-buffer) Everything! :)
space games: octree + clipping against frustrum

(mmm, i guess this is not a very detailed answer. I'm sorry)

Jaap

Chris Babcock

July 06, 1999, 11:20 PM

>>Does anybody know which visibility determination methods are used in common racing games?