Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / Help with 3D code optimizations Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

SLI9000

July 02, 1999, 08:04 AM

Sorry sorry this message is too long, I just had lots of questions.

IĄ¯m a complete beginner programmer and am trying to write my very first 3d engine for self-education purposes.
(I did do some Direct3D programs in the past though)
I've been searching through books and the internet for information
I have managed to get all the bare basic parts of an engine done (software Z-buffer, perspective texture mapping, gouraud shading, culling, clipping, texture filtering, polygon scan-line conversion thru edge table and active edge table)

But there is one huge problem. It is way too slow.I can't figure out why.
I'm kind of a newbie programmer (Visual C/C++ 5) so please tell me how I can optimize my code.

I am using a lot of global vars, are they slower than local?
I've got all the globals in one *.cpp file, and another header called globals.h
that has lots of extern *each global varname* statements. It gets included in all the other source files.

Although my sources files are all cpp. They donĄ¯t use any C++ capabilities, except maybe for function overloading. IĄ¯m just making the extensions .cpp, so if I decide to include DirectX in the future, I wonĄ¯t have to go thourgh that lpVtbl thing every single Direct X function call.

and there are frequently used functions all over the place (different files)
and a header that has all the function prototypes that is included in every file.

Likewise all my structs and typedefs are in a headerfile