Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / Polygon sorting algorithms Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Aries

June 29, 1999, 02:32 PM

i am an average competent c programmer, and i am working on a 3d game and engine in my spare
time ive come to the conclusion that since i love fps games so much i might as well do a fps.
i am trying to decide what is the best way to go about doing my poly gong sorting and collision
detection against those polygons. ive had thoughts of doing a straight bsp system but that in
the long run is too slow i think, portals i cant seem to find any real good documentation on,
there is also the thought of using the quake/2 bsp. i suppose i came here for a good debate and
information on these thecniques and other possible techniques. if it is posible what ever
possible soultions come up it would be much appericated if there is implememntation info or
even source to go with it.

P.S.
although i am a good programer i would like to keep things as simple as possible for future
reference and to pass out my source code when the project is finished. i am targeting my engine
at win9x/nt and opengl/???d3d??.

Aries

Tim Smith

June 29, 1999, 03:31 PM

I would checkout the Harmless Algorithms here on flipcode in the features section. On Harmless's website, there is also a letters section that talks in depth about different systems.