Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / Game Design & Programming / Picking a language nowadays Account Manager

Aveuh

November 08, 2012, 05:51 PM

Hey everyone !
I'm very glad to see flipcode back. I've been a "silent-user" back in the days and learnt a lot from the forums and columns.

So here we are trying to repopulate the forums and I wish to start with something that could look like a flame question, but really is not.

A friend and I have been working for the past two years (with lots of interruption and "real life" work) on a small X4 space-opera game. After restarting the code three or four times for poor design we chose to sit down and write all the specs of a small prototype before trying to code anything.

So here I am, with my specs and my planning really wondering what language I ought to use. I know that a few years ago, C++ would have been a straight answer. But I've been questionning this a lot lately. Sure C++ has a strong advantage in terms of speed but "new" languages such as Python have a lot of integrated tools and libs allowing rapid and really pleasant development.

I have also been considering XNA/C# as a solution, but I read somewhere (and couldn't find the info anymore ... of course) that XNA would not be supported for a very long time. On the other hand, XNA provides a really neat framework and rapid toolkits methods for the boring part of the code, such as window management, assets loading, etc.

If I had to sort out by preference order the languages I would consider, it would be something like : Python >> C# >> C++. However, we all know that video games have some exigences. If every language is able to display 3 triangles in a scene, building a full video game is pretty costly, and I'm afraid Python would not be up to the task.

So here are my questions :