Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / General Programming / Where to start...? Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

JTickett

May 19, 2005, 07:22 AM

Hello,

I'm new to the Flipcode forums, but I was just hoping there is someone out there who can guide me in the right direction. Here is a little about myself so you have a better idea of how to reply.
I am mostly interested in 3D modelling and will begin my course in Cumputer-aided Visualization (BSC) in September, although I am mostly aiming at the games industry. Anyway... for a 'completely' part time prject over many years: Me and a few people would like to try designing and creating a small 3D game (but not like flash/java or anything of such...)
Anyway I have MANY questions because I am so curious but here are a few:

1> What components are needed to make a video game? - I read the article on here "Elements of a Games Engine" and it made some sense but I would just like a basic list of things (e.g. Games engine/3dmodels/maps/textures/tools)

2> Does anybody know any good tutorials for beginners in programming games?

3> I have some knowledge in programming languages such as C/C++/Perl and beginning to learn Python... but how useful are these?

4> The free games engine source codes... are they basically games engines that you adapt yourself?

5> how does everything else fit around the games engine?

6> I understand that obviously writing/designing games engine are extremely complicated/time consuming so if I was to download a free open-source engine then what would I do from there onwards? (in steps...)

7> Please just tell me as much information as you can cram on here to show me where to start