Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / OpenGL projection matrix problem Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

insom

April 23, 2005, 07:47 PM

I'm quite new to OpenGL and I'm starting out by coding a bomberman clone. For those not familiar, it's a simple overhead tile-based game. Right now I am using glOrtho() to create an overhead view of the tile board (which is 15x15 tiles, 32 pixels per tile). I'm simply using textured quads to draw the tiles which covers all of the screen except for an empty strip on the right (for score etc). This method works fine and is incredibly easy to setup because the OpenGL coordinates I'm drawing to match the screen coordinates. So I'm drawing tiles starting from 0,0. This makes it easy on me but obviously makes the z-axis and depth buffer useless, and not a very 3D game.. I want to setup my view so that I can draw 15x15 tiles starting from the top left corner of the screen and use 3d objects for the tiles, not just textured quads. I know i could use gluPerspective() but I'm not very familiar with it. I still want an overhead view, and I want to be able to use the depth buffer and draw full 3-d objects... and eventually once I can get this coded and running implement a full 3-d camera class. Could anyone please help me with this simple problem.

I just want to setup an overhead view for a simple tilebased map (15x15) that matches perfectly with the screen edges (except for the right side of course). Please help...

Victor Widell

April 23, 2005, 08:29 PM

Just go ahead! There is nothing stoping you from using 3D objects and the depth buffer.