Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / General Programming / Programming - A Love Hate Relationship Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

maxam

April 23, 2005, 06:50 PM

I havejust finished a problem that has been driving me crazy. I am not a expert programmer and not a beginner, I fit some where in between the two.. more expert :). But now and again I come across a problem in my code that upsets me so greatly. My programming attempts are not without ambition, new operating system, 3d game engine, robotics. My recent endevor in 3d hase produced a not too shabby 3d engine, frankly the best i have done to date. I start out with a firm base and expand from there, updating components as needed. My first model loader used the 3ds which was fine, multiple objects, textures, cameras and lights but it would be virtually usless for future incarnations of the engine. So i set out to update the loader, allowing me to still use the current loader code but easly use other file types thus MLoader was born. This loader abstrated the interface allowing me to write different format loaders independant of the Mloader interface. It worked perfectly, almost. I load one object fine but when i load a second.... the progrram crashes. I try debug but it gives me no information about the problem, I start checking code every where hours pass by and no luck. I take out code, switch it with earlier versions, nothing. Then only a shot while before writing this (ramblings of a mad man) I find two lines of code right togeather hiding, tormenting me. I knew even before removing them my problem would be solved. Away they went, one compile later sweet victory. And while the expieriance was