Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / 2D in D3D, a bit of help needed Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

KrisA

March 30, 2005, 09:02 AM

Hiya,
I'm new to DirectX 9 (and this forum) and I've been learning with the help of a few tutorials. I'm a retro programmer so my main focus is making 2D graphics. I'm learning DX so I can access cool stuff like alpha, scaling, etc.

So far I can initialise DirectX and draw sprites (ID3DXSprite) easily. I'm looking for a bit more control, though.
I'm looking for a way to be able to:

- Draw an image 'into' any other image (eg, draw onto their buffer)
- Treat the backbuffer as an image, to keep it consistent (so I can use the same blitting functions)
- Get access to an image's pixels directly
- Store an image in either video or system memory

I found out (by accident) about DirectX's IDirect3DSurface9 interface, which at first sounded like it was exactly what I wanted. As far as I can tell, though, it's actually a part of DirectDraw, so hardware acceleration (alpha/scale/storing in v-ram) isn't possible (unless I'm mistaken?).

So my question is, could anyone nudge me in the right direction of a way to achieve this? I don't mind how complicated it is as long as I can find a decent tutorial or reference.

Thanks a bunch,
Kris

PS: I've had a look around on Google, and these forums, but they don't really give me the sort of answer I'm looking for.

Chris

March 30, 2005, 09:11 AM

> Draw an image 'into' any other image (eg, draw onto their buffer)
> Treat the backbuffer as an image, to keep it consistent (so I can use the same
> blitting functions)

Look for "render to texture".