Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / Making spacey clouds or nebula with DirectX8.1 (3D) Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Firlefanz

March 23, 2005, 05:47 AM

Hello,

I have a project with Delphi and DirectX8.1, it is a 2D shooter but with 3D demos. I have already created a 'universe' some planets rotating around the sun, all X-Objects.

So I found this picture:

[img]http://celestialvisions.net/pics/earth.jpg[/img]

How can I do something 'cloudy' or 'nebula' looking?

Do I have to use particles or are there easier possibilities?

And can you please figure it out, since I am a beginner in D3D.

Thanks a lot!

Firle

z80

March 23, 2005, 09:39 AM

What is that cloud stuff anyway? Doesnt really look real...

Paulus

March 23, 2005, 10:16 AM

search google for some 'earth cloud maps' i used those in a poster i made with 3dsmax for a party we held. The poster was A2 format and if i recall it correctly the resolution of the cloud texture i had (.PNG) was 10k x 8k pixels or something in that order and of superhigh quality (i downloaded it from the NASA site back then). you should of course resize it to a usable size for ingame purposes...

Paulus

March 23, 2005, 10:17 AM

dinner is served!

http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/earthcloud.php

hope you can use it.

theAntiELVIS

March 24, 2005, 12:38 AM

Google on "Perlin Noise"

And there's a great noise lib here:

http://libnoise.sourceforge.net/