Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / General Programming / chessgame in coulour-help wanted Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

deedebee

March 16, 2005, 01:53 PM

i am a painter-photographer who's been working for several years on a new type of chess game that's played in colour. i managed to get a general idea on my website, but would appreciate if somebody could give me some help to make the game more interactive.(i'm fairly new to gamedesign)
here's the link
--played with coloured pieces
http://www.theapplegallery.com/drag...ry11-transp.htm
--played with little carpets
http://www.theapplegallery.com/drag%20and%20drop+.htm
i managed to show things with the drag and drop system but need help with-(1)how could i put the pieces straight on top of the carpets?
(2)is there a way of counting the moves people make?
(3)any help or idea to make it more interactive
(4)i have seen somewhere a chess game in flash where the moves pieces made, where shown
here's the link http://www.newsandentertainment.com/zfchess.html
could i use something similar ?

--
website
http://www.theapplegallery.com/

Aaron Wirtz

March 16, 2005, 03:34 PM

your first link seems broken.

I followed the second and looked around, but aside from seeing the pretty images, nothing seemed to work in my browser (Firefox on Linux).

Also, I didn't see any clear indication what the rules are. (maybe that part would be obvious if I could atually drag the pieces or someting?)