Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / SetTexture() quits app without error msg Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

digitalblade

March 16, 2005, 05:58 AM

hi guys!

a new member, and already bursting in with questions (;

I'm new to DX9 coding , so this is a newbie question:

I want to change the texture of a billboard, depending on user input....
(ie.the mouse moves over a button and changes its texture or if the cursor hovers above a clickable button(billboard) it changes its appearence....etc. you get the idea)

so I implemented several textures in the cursor class and want to switch between those depending on a status variable.
so instead of just calling in the RenderCursor()

2. g_pd3dDevice->SetTexture( 0, CursorTexturGreen->pTexture );

I use

3. switch (myCursorTextureID)
  4. {
  5.  case 0:
  6.    g_pd3dDevice->SetTexture( 0, CursorTextureGreen->pTexture );
  7.    break;
  8.  case 1:
  9.    g_pd3dDevice->SetTexture( 0, CursorTextureBlue->pTexture );
  10.    break;
  11.  default:
  12.   g_pd3dDevice->SetTexture( 0, CursorTextureGreen->pTexture );
  13.   break;
  14. }

the problem is, when I change the myCursorTextureID, my app simply quits
without saying anything );

the textures are loaded ok, because when the constructor is called(no matter what the ID is) it displays that texture.... only afterwards when I change it ...boom....

so, what am I doing wrong?

if you want, I cant post the class and the calling code too, but maybe you allready know whats the prob.....

thx in advance!
cheers

btw. pTexture is a LPDIRECT3DTEXTURE9 created using D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx()

Illco

March 16, 2005, 06:37 AM