Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / General Programming / SIMD/batch optimized datastructure. Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Victor Widell

February 10, 2005, 07:54 PM

Please give me your thoughts on this:

I had this stupid idea of trying to design a vector class speciffically for SIMD processing and batching. (Even though I have no real-life experience with ASM.) This seems to be the future of computing, considering the plans for the Cell chip.

My idea was basically to use an array of vectors, and apply all operations on those arrays instead of the induvidual vectors, and the data will be stored xxxx, yyyy, zzzz instead of xyz, xyz, xyz, xyz.

The class will basically look like this:

2. class cVectorArray{
  3.   public:
  4.     cVectorArray(int Size):Size(Size), x(new float[Size]), y(new float[Size]), z(new float[Size]){};
  5.     ~cVectorArray{
  6.       delete[] x;
  7.       delete[] y;
  8.       delete[] z;
  9.     };
  11.   cVectorArray operator+(cVectorArray Input){
  12.     cVectorArray Return(MIN(Size, Input.Size));
  14.     int i;
  16.     i=0;
  17.     for(; i<Size; i+=4)
  18.       asm{ some asm SIMD code to fill Return.x. }
  20.     i=0;
  21.     for(; i<Size; i+=4)
  22.       asm{ some asm SIMD code to fill Return.y. }
  24.     i=0;
  25.     for(; i<Size; i+=4)
  26.       asm{ some asm SIMD code to fill Return.z. }
  28.     return Return;
  29.   };
  31.   private:
  32.     float* x;
  33.     float* y;
  34.     float* z;
  36.     int Size;
  37. };

There should of course be some interface functions to push/pop etc. But you get the concept.

Pros:
* You automatically get efficient SIMD code.