Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / Game Design & Programming / I make computer science! How can I start to develop games? Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

claudio1

January 19, 2005, 06:43 PM

Hi, I'm braziliam and wanna learn to develop games! How can I start? What are the best programming languages for this? What are the most used? What is a good material for studying? What hints and tips can you say me about this?

Victor Widell

January 19, 2005, 07:08 PM

"How can I start?"

Learn to code. Learn to code well. Learn to finnish a project.

"What are the best programming languages for this?"

Depends... I started coding in Visual Basic. It was a great choise, since I could quickly get some reward by atually seing things on the screen. Later, the limitations of the language became evident to me, and I swithced to C++. C++ generally requires more work before you can se pretty picures, but is far more powerful.

"What are the most used?"

C++. Really.

"What is a good material for studying?"

Read a few beginners books on the language you have choosen. Follow the exercises. Join a programming forum (Like this one...) and read others questions/answers even if they might not seem very useful at the time.

Corre

January 20, 2005, 01:41 AM

www.gamemaker.nl

lets you start up immediately and make games using drag and drop, and then lets you go deeper and deeper into code to do more advanced stuff. Is more powerful than it first looks, and is not all just about the drag and drop part.

Eventually you'll want to learn C++ though, but whatever you do, don't start out with that.

qesbit

March 20, 2005, 09:54 PM