Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / 3D Theory & Graphics / Camera Tutorials Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Scott Baillie

August 08, 1999, 12:51 PM

A while ago I posted a message regarding implementing 3D cameras into my 3D engine. Initially I though I had it working but after further investigation I found out otherwise.

All I want to do if move the camera around a 3D scene.

I'm a beginner to 3D graphics but I understand the basics and was wondering if there are any GOOD camera tutorials for beginners?

I've set up a camera matrix and a camera position and the rotation seems to work okay BUT I cannot move the camera. It's driving me mad cos I think I'm close to getting the basic working.

Any help would be great. Thanks.

Kurt Miller

August 08, 1999, 03:36 PM

Scott Baillie wrote:
>>I'm a beginner to 3D graphics but I understand the basics and was wondering if there
>>are any GOOD camera tutorials for beginners?

There are plenty of 3D camera tutorials out there. Here are two that come to mind:

3D Cameras by Jorrit Tyberghein
Cameras by Tweak

-kurt

ChaiBot

August 09, 1999, 11:00 PM

The simplest thing to do is to build the matrix yourself. The advantage of this is even if you are working in something like D3D (which renders left-handed) you can build the matrix out of a right handed system.