Not logged in, Join Here! or Log In Below:  

News Articles Search    

Home / General Programming / C++ Coding Questions Account Manager

Archive Notice: This thread is old and no longer active. It is here for reference purposes. This thread was created on an older version of the flipcode forums, before the site closed in 2005. Please keep that in mind as you view this thread, as many of the topics and opinions may be outdated.

Ron Jeremy

March 22, 1999, 06:14 PM

Ater my map file format and what I wanted to do with it began to really get out of control, I made the brief conversion from C to C++. Since I'm new to OOP, I'd like to know if there's any common mistakes that are made from changing programming styles to C++ from standard C, so I don't make them myself before it's too late. I also have a few questions :

- Is the new (whatever) function some sort of calloc for classes?

- Does anyone ever use those things?

- When using classes, which do you recommend :
1. Make the properties of it (such as flags, alpha, etc) protected and use scopes, i.e. this->setx(int x)
2. Or should I make them public access them directly, like this->x = int x?

I apologize for these horribly beginner questions in a forum meant for people who write self-modifying spaghetti code directly to their 3D cards and have P.h.Ds in advanced mathematics :), but anyone kind enough to spend a few minutes of their time to help an ignorant 16 year old would be quite appreciated.

-The Ronster

Jaap Suter

March 22, 1999, 06:36 PM

Howdy!!!!

----Is the new (whatever) function some sort of calloc for classes?

Yes it is. Just remember that every new() has a delete() too (or terrible things will happen
like cool memory leaks!).
I never use them. I declare everything before compile time. In my
programmes there is never dynamic memory allocation (is this a bad thing?)

------- Does anyone ever use those things?